Follow us:
Maharashtra Legislature Pays Tribute to Mandela

Maharashtra Legislature today paid homage to former South African President Nelson Mandela on the first day of its Winter Session which commenced here.

Members of both Houses observed a two-minute silence as a mark of respect to the anti-apartheid icon, who passed away last week.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan moved a resolution of condolence in the Assembly and hailed the South African leader as the second Mahatma Gandhi.

The 95-year-old Nobel peace prize winner followed the Gandhian way of struggle against the apartheid and was greatly admired across the world for his decades-long fight, he said.

Leader of Opposition Eknath Khadse of BJP supported the resolution and said Mandela followed the principles of non violence and peace in his relentless struggle against a regime based on racial discrimination.

Speaker Dilip Walse Patil lauded the elder statesman for his contribution to humanity.

PWD Minister Chhagan Bhujbal, Ganpatrao Deshmukh (Peasants & Workers Party) and Bala Nandgaonkar (MNS), among others, also paid tributes.

The Lower House later adopted the resolution and observed silence in memory of the departed soul.

In the Legislative Council, Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar moved the condolence resolution and Opposition Leader Vinod Tawade (BJP) seconded it.

Ministers Patangrao Kadam, Nitin Raut, Neelam Gorhe of Shiv Sena and Jayant Patil of PWP paid rich tributes to Mandela.


The state Legislature also condoled the demise of its past and sitting members, who died recently, before being adjourned for the day.

In the Assembly, Chavan moved a resolution to mourn the death of sitting MLA Subhash Jhanak and former members Lalita Rao, Jagesh Desai, Chandrakant Nimbalkar, Chandrakant Mhaski, Sukhdeo Dongre, Pandurang Dingre, Arjun Shingade and Dayaram Tangde Patil.

Khadse, EGS Minister Nitin Raut, Babanrao Gholap (Sena), Ganpatrao Deshmukh (PWP), Ashok Chavan, Vijay Wadettiwar (both Cong) and Laxmanrao Dhoble (NCP) paid tributes to them.

The Speaker joined the House in paying tributes and recalled his association with some of the members.

In the Council, Pawar moved a resolution to condole the demise of Jayantrao Bhosale and T M Kamble, both former members.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: