Follow us:
25 Women Candidates Win in Rajasthan

As BJP wrested power from Congress in Rajasthan today, a total of 25 women candidates emerged victorious in the state.

Among the 25 winners elected for the 14th Vidhan Sabha, 19 are from BJP. There were 29 women MLAs in the 13th assembly.

Maximum women winners are from BJP, including its chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje. While NPP has two, Congress has one and there is one Independent female winner, two women candidates have emerged victorious from other parties.

Raje defeated her nearest Congress rival Meenakshi Chandrawat by a record margin of 60,896 whereas 8 BJP women candidates won their seats by a margin over 20,000.

Mahila Congress state president Shakuntala Rawat won Bansur seat with a margin of 23,916 whereas NPP's Golma Devi and Geeta Verma, Independent candidate and sitting MLA Anju Devi and other parties' Kamini Zindal and Sonadevi are also victorious.

A total of 166 women candidates had contested the December 1 elections in the state.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: