Follow us:
PTI Photo/ DIPR Mizoram
Cong Wins in Mizoram With 33 Seats, MNF 5, MPC 1

After facing a debacle in four states, Congress today got some good news in Mizoram where it won a two-thirds majority in the Assembly elections, snapping up 33 of 39 seats, bettering its tally, while Opposition MNF secured five and MPC one.

Congress had won 32 seats in the 2008 Assembly elections in the Christian-dominated state.

Counting in one seat, Lawngtlai East, could not be completed because of a problem in an EVM at Tialdawngilung polling station, Joint Chief Electoral Officer H Lalengmawia told PTI.

A repoll would be held on December 11 and counting on December 12, he said.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, all set for a fifth term, won from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo seats he contested.

In Serchhip, Thanhawla, who was elected to the Assembly for a record ninth time since 1978, won by a margin of 734 votes defeating his nearest Mizo National Front (MNF) rival Lalramzauva, who got 4,985 votes in a four-cornered contest.

In Hrangturzo, the Chief Minister defeated his Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) rival Lalthansanga by 1,638 votes. Thanhawla received 5173 votes in a five-cornered contest.

Thanhawla had been chief minister in 1984, 1989, 1993 followed by a break for two terms before he donned the mantle again in 2008.

Of the 11 ministers who contested, nine - R Lalzirliana (Home), J H Rothuama (Cooperation), P C Zoram Sangliana (Transport), H Rohluna (Forests), Lalrinliana Sailo (Health), Lalsawta (Education), Zodintluanga (Sports), P C Lalthanliana (Social Welfare), Veterinary Minister Nihar Kanti Chakma - won.

Finance Minister H Liansailova was defeated in Aizawl North-II by Lalthanliana of MPC, a junior partner of MNF.

Tourism Minister S Hiato lost to MNF's K Beichhua in Saiha.

Assembly Speaker R Romawia won from the prestigious Aizawl North-I seat.

Deputy Speaker John Rotluangliana won from Mamit.

Congress also bagged the Tuivawl, South Tuipui, Lunglei South, Palak, Champhai North, Lawngtlai West, Tuirial, Tawi and Tuichawng seats.

On the poll outcome, Lal Thanhawla said contrary to anti- incumbency playing a crucial role after completion of a five- year term, in Mizoram "pro-incumbency" worked in favour of Congress.

"I am going to form the next government in the state," he said.

The main opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) was far behind bagging five seats - Saiha, Tuikum, Aizawl West-I, Aizawl West-II, Aizawl West - III, two more than in 2008.

Among the five, the party's Rajya Sabha MP Lalhming Liana won from Serlui defeating Congress' R Selthuama.

Barring MNF and MPC, Maraland Democratic Front, a constituent of the three-party alliance failed to open its accounts. The MDF had one seat earlier.

A prominent loser was opposition Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) chief Lalduhawma, who was defeated both from Aizawl West-I and Kolasib. The party had two seats in the outgoing House.

The BJP, which had fielded 17 candidates, and the NCP (2) drew a blank.

In Aizawl, one seat, the last one result announced late tonight, Lalmia Sailo, President of MPC, was defeated by Congress' R Lalrinawma.

Lalmia Sailo is also the son of former Chief Minister Brigadier Sailo.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Short Takes
Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail

Dec 11, 2013
12:48 PM

@ S.S. Nagaraj: I would like a shot to scare you away. To hell preferably.

communalist, mumbai
Dec 09, 2013
05:23 PM

"Mizoram for Christ" is the official slogan of Congress party in Mizoram.Were the Hindu Reangs allowed to vote or were they shot to scare them away?

S.S.Nagaraj, Bangalore
Order by

Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: